Konferenz Nationaler Kultureinrichtungen

SBD 244

Bauhaus Dessau Foundation

The historic Bauhaus reached the pinnacle of its success in Dessau between 1925 and 1932. It oversaw the construction of more original Bauhaus buildings than in any other city – including the famous Bauhaus school building, the Masters’ Houses and the Dessau-Törten Housing Estate. 

The Bauhaus Dessau Foundation was established in 1994 with the goal of preserving the historic legacy of the Bauhaus, advancing its ideals and devoting itself to current design issues. The Bauhaus and its historic sites in Weimar and Dessau were collectively designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1996. In 2017, the Dessau-Törten Housing Estate and the former ADGB Trade Union School in Bernau near Berlin joined the World Heritage Site.

In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus in 2019, the new Bauhaus Museum in Dessau celebrated its grand opening. Now for the first time, visitors can experience the extensive collection of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation with more than 50,000 items, the second largest Bauhaus collection in the world.